Residential Districts

Residential Classification

There are six zoning classifications in the Village of Palatine’s Residential Districts. Each of these zoning districts has different regulations regarding the development of a parcel of land in that particular zoning district. A summary of these regulations are illustrated in the list on this page or additional information many be found in the Zoning Ordinance (PDF). Please refer to the Residential Zoning Guide for a summary of the district requirements.

The six residential zoning districts are:

  • R-1, Single Family
  • R-1A, Single Family
  • R-1B, Single Family
  • R-1C, Single Family
  • R-2, Single Family
  • R-3, High Density Multi-Family